TC Local 1976 USW

 

Recent News

We at Local 1976 were devastated to learn this weekend that brother Dawit Amare was tragically killed while working at the Canpar JCC warehouse.

The employer is cooperating with authorities to investigate this matter and the USW District 6 Emergency Response Team has been notified to assist with Dawit’s family and co-workers. Canpar is also contacting the EAP to arrange for on-site trauma and grief counselling.

Introducing the new USW Network for Women in Industry!
The first Network meeting will be held virtually on Wednesday, September 14 at 5:30 p.m. PT (which is 6:30 p.m. MT, 7:30 p.m. CT, 8:30 p.m. ET, and 9:30 p.m.

Local 1976 would like to extend a huge thank you to all who purchased tickets for the raffle at last month's triennial convention in Montreal. With your help we raised $1,045 for Nataliya Sazonova and her family, who recently arrived in Canada from Ukraine. The local matched that amount, so we were thrilled to present the family with a cheque for $2,090 to help them as they get adjusted to life here. We wish them all the best for the future.

We are pleased to announce that Local 1976 has once again partnered with Union Savings to renew our contract with Vubiz E-learning for another two years.

Full announcement: PDF icon Vubiz Renewal Announcement and Details