Welcome to Local 1976 USW!

Below you'll find all the info you'll need as a new member.

We at Local 1976 were devastated to learn this weekend that brother Dawit Amare was tragically killed while working at the Canpar JCC warehouse.

The employer is cooperating with authorities to investigate this matter and the USW District 6 Emergency Response Team has been notified to assist with Dawit’s family and co-workers. Canpar is also contacting the EAP to arrange for on-site trauma and grief counselling.

Introducing the new USW Network for Women in Industry!
The first Network meeting will be held virtually on Wednesday, September 14 at 5:30 p.m. PT (which is 6:30 p.m. MT, 7:30 p.m. CT, 8:30 p.m. ET, and 9:30 p.m.

Local 1976 would like to extend a huge thank you to all who purchased tickets for the raffle at last month's triennial convention in Montreal. With your help we raised $1,045 for Nataliya Sazonova and her family, who recently arrived in Canada from Ukraine. The local matched that amount, so we were thrilled to present the family with a cheque for $2,090 to help them as they get adjusted to life here. We wish them all the best for the future.

We are pleased to announce that Local 1976 has once again partnered with Union Savings to renew our contract with Vubiz E-learning for another two years.

Full announcement: PDF icon Vubiz Renewal Announcement and Details

Our members in Barrie have been showing true solidarity in times of need. 

Recently, members of Unit 2311 of Local 1976 raised $5,000 to help their community after the tornado in Barrie. Photo and full story here.

Below, photos of Chris Thompson and other members of Unit 2311, with donations gathered for the Christmas Food Drive for the Barrie Food Bank.

A message from VP/FST Nancy Lapointe:

Last Monday I went to meet with managers from Canadian Tire and L’Équipeur at Marché Central.

-------

Please see the newsletter below published by the District 5 office of the USW on August 30, 2021:

PDF icon USW (District 5) Newsletter August 30, 2021